Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECC - Online Education Users: Library Services

Locations & Hours of Operation

 

Fall through Spring:
7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. Monday - Thursday 
7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Friday 

Summer:

7:15 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Monday - Thursday 
Closed Friday, Saturday, and Sunday

 

These hours are subject to change during holidays and academic breaks.

Tarboro Campus:

The Learning Resource Center is located in the C Building on the Tarboro Campus.
2009 W. Wilson St., Tarboro, NC 27886
Phone: (252) 823-5166
Fax: (252) 618-6570

Rocky Mount Campus:

The Learning Resource Center is located on the first floor of the Barnes Building.
225 Tarboro St., Rocky Mount, NC 27801
Phone: (252) 823-5166
Fax: (252) 618-6694

Computer Use



Internet Services

Computer Internet stations are available for customer use. Internet users are required to adhere to the College’s Internet policy as stated on the Edgecombe Community College homepage. To view the policy please click “Acceptable Use Guide” on the Technical Support link. Remote access passwords to electronic databases may be obtained from the Library staff.

Circulation Policies

Loan Policies

The loan period for books and pamphlets is two weeks. Items may be renewed if no one else has requested them.

 

Obtaining a Library Card


Students use their student id's as their library card and for print management. They need to get their card registered in the library when they first enroll.

Any Edgecombe/Nash County resident sixteen (16) years of age or older may obtain a library card.
Note: A photo ID is needed to verify age and identification.

Library Mission Statement

LRC - Library Mission Statement

The mission of Edgecombe Community College Library collects and circulates, or provides access to print, audiovisual and electronic resources to support the programs of the college and lifelong learning goals of its students, faculty and staff, as well as the entire community.

LRC - Library Services

Materials in the collection are selected in cooperation with faculty, and augmented with interlibrary loans of books and articles from both CCLINC libraries and other research libraries worldwide. Library staff provide the highest standard of professional and friendly service to all patrons, including both individual and classroom instruction in information literacy.

LRC - Library Collections

Both the Tarboro and Rocky Mount campus libraries offer basic reference and curricular resources. The combined collection of approximately 35,407 units of print and AV material is accessed through the Sirsi online catalog, which also contains the holdings of 44 other North Carolina community colleges.

LRC - Library Special Collections

Special collections include the Early Childhood Collection on the Rocky Mount campus and the North Carolina and Local History Collection on the Tarboro campus. Another special collection on the Tarboro campus is Accelerated Reader books for the Edgecombe County Early College.

Audiovisual Services


Audiovisual Services


The libraries on both ECC campuses assist in serving the media needs of faculty, staff, and students. While AV equipment is located permanently in some classrooms, there are situations when an item is needed on a short-term basis. A limited number of laptop computers, LCD projectors, overhead projectors, slide projectors, and cassette recorders as well as digital cameras, a video camera and tripod, a film strip projector, a boom box, and TV/VCR/DVD player on a large cart are available by calling the library to sign up on a first come, first served basis.

Audiovisual equipment and materials may be borrowed by local community organizations with the exception of laptop computers, LCD projectors, and digital cameras. Requests should be made at least one week in advance.

Audiovisual materials are intended primarily for faculty classroom use and are housed in the library workrooms on both campuses. Students needing AV materials for class presentations may check them out for the duration of the class period only. Students may preview materials in the library prior to their class presentation.