“Cheating” - includes, but is not limited to:
(1) use of any unauthorized assistance in taking quizzes, tests, or examinations;
(2) use of sources beyond those authorized by the instructor in writing papers, preparing reports, solving
problems, or carrying out other assignments;
(3) the acquisition, without permission, of tests or other academic material belonging to a member of the College faculty or staff
(4) engaging in any behavior specifically prohibited by a faculty member in the course syllabus or class discussion.
Tutors
In order to make sure you are not breaking the code of conduct ECC provides tutors to assist students with their academic needs.Tutors provide additional individualized instruction and support necessary to help students achieve academic success at the college. Tutors provide assistance with study skills, test-taking skills, and class content. Students may
request tutoring assistance for any curriculum course by contacting the Student Services Department. There is no fee for tutoring services. The Tutoring Program employs students and other qualified individuals as tutors. Students may apply
to be tutors by contacting the Curriculum Learning Center. Online tutoring is available to all students 24 hours per day. Please contact the Curriculum Learning Center (CLC) for more
Student Conduct
Edgecombe Community College (ECC) is dedicated to fulfilling the educational, training, and cultural needs of the community and its students. Attending ECC obligates the student to display the qualities of courtesy, respect, and integrity
that characterize the behavior of adult learners. The College’s policy prohibiting academic dishonesty and the Student Code of Conduct are guides for students in understanding their rights and responsibilities. Students who fail to display these
qualities will be subject to disciplinary sanctions. Students suspected of violating the College’s policy prohibiting academic dishonesty or Student Code of Conduct will be afforded due process.
1. Falsification, forgery, alteration, unauthorized possession, or misuse of 91 ECC CATALOG 2013–2015 College documents, records, or identification, or knowingly furnishing false information to the College or to a College employee.
2. Destruction, damage, unauthorized entry, possession, or misuse of private
or College property.
3. Theft or attempted theft of property or damage, other than accidental, to property of the College, members of the College community, or campus visitors or other personal or public property.
4. Disruption or obstruction of teaching, administration, or any other function or activity of the College.
5. Denial of or interference with any person’s lawful right of access to, use of, or exit from any College property or with any other lawful right of any person on the campus.
6. Verbal, physical, or psychological abuse, threats, intimidation, harassment, coercion, and/or other conduct, including but not limited to stalking or bullying, in person or by electronic means, which threatens bodily harm to self or another person or persons in the College community or endangers the health or safety of any person.
7. Hazing of any kind, including acts directed against an ECC student by another student, or by a group of students which intimidates or subjects another student to indignity or humiliation. The express or implied consent, apathy, or acquiescence of the victim will not be a defense.
8. Sexual harassment as defined by the College’s Sexual Harassment Policy in the Student Handbook.
9. Sexual violence or attempted sexual violence including physical sexual acts perpetrated against a person’s will or where a person is incapable of giving consent.
10. Engaging in any type of sexual activity on any College property.
11. Conduct that is disorderly, lewd, or indecent; breach of the peace; or aiding, abetting, or procuring another person to breach the peace on College property or at a College activity.
12. Conducting or participating in gang activity on the College’s campuses or at any College sponsored event. This violation includes, but is not limited to, displaying of gang symbols and colors.
13. Violation of the College’s Tobacco-Free Campus Policy found in the Student Handbook.
14. Possession, use, manufacturing, sale, or delivery of alcoholic beverages on College properties or violation of the College’s Alcoholic Beverage, Drug, and Weapons policy in the Student Handbook.
15. Possession, use, manufacturing, sale, or delivery of marijuana, narcotics, or other controlled substances or dangerous drugs or illicit drugs in violation of local, state, or federal law or the College’s Alcoholic Beverage, Drug, and Weapons policy in the Student Handbook.
16. Being under the influence of alcohol or drugs.ECC CATALOG 2013–2015 92
17. Possession or use of firearms, illegal knife, dangerous weapons, explosives, and/or dangerous chemicals while on campus in violation of the College’s Alcoholic Beverage, Drug, and Weapons policy in the Student
Handbook. The appropriate use of chemicals in class is exempt from this policy.
18. Malfeasance or misuse of elective or appointed office in a student organization which is injurious to the organization, its members, or the welfare of the College community.
19. Failure to comply with the directions of College employees or law enforcement officers acting in the performance of their duties and/or to identify oneself to these persons when requested to do so.
20. Violation of any College policy, rule, or regulation.
21. Violations of any city, state or federal law.
22. Theft or other abuse of computer facilities and resources, including but not limited to:
• Unauthorized entry into a file, to use, read, or change the contents, or for any other purpose.
• Unauthorized transfer of a file.
• Use of another individual’s identification and/or password.
• Use of computing facilities and resources to interfere with the work of another student, faculty member or College employee.
• Use of computing facilities and resources to send obscene or abusive messages.
• Use of computing facilities and resources to interfere with normal operation of the College computing system.
• Use of computing facilities and resources in violation of copyright laws.
• Violation of the Acceptable Use Guidelines for College Computing Resources.
23. Any unauthorized use of electronic or other devices to make an audio or video record of any person while on College premises without his/her prior knowledge, or without his/her effective consent when such a recording is likely to cause injury or distress.
24. Failure to report behavior that threatens the public safety of the College community.
25. Abuse of the Due Process for Students and Student Appeals process, including but not limited to:
• Failure to obey the notice from an Academic Dean or Dean in Student Services or the Campus Appeals Committee to appear for a meeting or hearing as part of the Due Process for Students and Student Appeals process.
• Falsification, distortion, or misrepresentation of information to an Academic Dean, Dean in Student Services, Vice President, or before the Campus Appeals Committee as part of the Due Process for 93 ECC CATALOG 2013–2015
Students and Student Appeals process.
• Disruption or interference with the orderly conduct of a Campus Appeals Committee proceeding.
• Submission of an allegation that a student has violated the College’s policy prohibiting academic dishonesty or Student Code of Conduct in bad faith.
• Attempting to discourage an individual’s proper participating in, or use of, the Due Process for Students and Student Appeals process.
• Attempting to influence the impartiality of a member of a Campus Appeals Committee prior to, and/or during the course of, a proceeding.
• Harassment (verbal or physical) and/or intimidation of a member of a Campus Appeals Committee prior to, during, and/or after a proceeding.
• Failure to comply with the disciplinary sanction(s).
• Influencing or attempting to influence another person to commit an abuse of the Due Process for Students and Student Appeals process.
26. Other violations determined by College authorities to warrant disciplinary action.