Over 60 full text titles available for use
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Collection
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research. Also included general titles
American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd Edition
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary
The Encyclopedia of Aging
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
Epilepsy A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
The Encyclopedia of Suicide
The Encyclopedia of Depression
Library of Health and Living: The Encyclopedia of Autoimmune Diseases
Library of Health and Living: The Encyclopedia of Men's Health
The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders
Library of Health and Living: The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health
Encyclopedia of AIDS
Written for nurses of all education and experience levels, 301 Careers in Nursing highlights the exceptional array of diverse opportunities available to those interested in a career in nursing. Each of the carefully selected and researched careers described in this book embraces the core dimensions of nursing: caring, competence, and commitment to excellence in caring for others at all stages of life.
This is a one-of-a-kind, all-inclusive reference guide for new Clinical Nurse Specialists entering the field as well as seasoned practitioners looking to update their knowledge. Disseminating a wealth of current professional practice guidance and practical information on reimbursement and certification, the second edition has been fully updated to reflect changes resulting from the Affordable Care Act and the APRN Consensus Model.
Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this handbook delivers all of the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care-pre-test, intra-test, and post-test.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, Sixteenth Edition delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs.
This impressive edition builds upon the solid foundation of the first three award-winning editions with an expanded focus on climate change related disasters, globalization and its implications for emerging and re-emerging infectious diseases, the accommodation of high-risk, high-vulnerability populations, and the potential for disaster arising from a world witnessing increasing community violence and civil unrest.
The new fifth edition of one of the premier references for geriatric nurses in hospital, long-term, and community settings, delivers current guidelines, real-life case studies, and evidence-based protocols developed by master educators and practitioners. Several new expert contributors present current guidelines about hip fractures, frailty, perioperative and postoperative care, palliative care, and senior-friendly emergency departments.
This resource captures the essence of pivotal events and individuals in nursing history who have driven the evolution of the nursing role from that of a "handmaiden" to a key health professional. It distills important historical information--often neglected in today's nursing programs--that fosters an understanding and appreciation of the issues that inform nursing practice today.
Providing key information at a glance, this timely resource for the home care nurse offers clear, current practice guidelines for safely delivering IV therapy within the home. Written by one of the foremost experts in the field, the guide delivers not only evidence-based information in an easy-to-access, bulleted format, but also extensive descriptions, discussions, and rationale for in-depth consultation.
The newly revised third edition of the bestselling orientation guide for novice ER nurses delivers important clinical updates across body systems and written to upplement the ER nurse's busy day-to-day orientation process.
Fast Facts for the Hospice Nurse: A Concise Guide to End-of-Life Care is an invaluable resource that provides emotional, administrative, and palliative support, whether in a hospice, long-term care facility, or acute care setting. This vital go-to text clearly and concisely lays out not only how to care for patients facing end-of-life issues, but also how to engage in self-care and cope with occupational stress.
This pocket-sized, quick-access guide gives nurses crucial information they need to know to understand, identify, and effectively counter incivility, bullying, and violence in all nursing settings.
This distinguished title, written by nationally recognized nursing experts in health care and pediatrics, delivers the most current evidence-based practice standards and their application. This second edition contains substantial updates to all guidelines based on the most current research evidence and demonstrates how best to apply the guidelines to nursing practice.
The Fifth Edition features the most current content,strategies, and procedures available with direct applicability to nurses and health researchers engaging in interprofessional research, collaboration,education, and evidence-based practice.
This AJN Book of the Year Winner, by two noted educators in the field of leadership development, guides you through the process. An easy-to-read, interactive approach helps you identify the characteristics of leaders and followers and illustrates not only how, but also when to use the qualities associated with each to achieve professional and personal success.
This quick-reference tool has what you need to select the appropriate diagnosis to plan your patients care effectively. The 14th Edition features all the latest nursing diagnoses and updated interventions. A laminated "pocket minder" bookmark makes diagnosis even easier.
With an emphasis on the qualities that have fostered strong nursing leadership, this book provides a unique perspective on the lives and achievements of the most revered nurses throughout history. It is comprised of biographies of many of nursings most important activist agents of change, with a focus on those characteristics that enabled them to accomplish their goals and implement changes that improved nursing, health, healthcare, and society.
This is a definitive, state-of-the-art resource on the vital pieces of perinatal and pediatric palliative care. Culling the most important new evidence-based research and findings from scholars and practitioners worldwide, it links theoretical knowledge and clinical practice to fill a gap in current information.
Heres the most complete and easy-to-use resource on how to develop practical, individualized plans of care for psychiatric and mental health patients. The first half provides the diagnostic information needed to create a care plan; the second half covers the safe prescription and administration of psychotropic medications.
Heres the most complete and easy-to-use resource on how to develop practical, individualized plans of care for psychiatric and mental health patients. The first half provides the diagnostic information needed to create a care plan; the second half covers the safe prescription and administration of psychotropic medications.
Thoroughly updated to correlate with DSM 5 diagnostic descriptions and QSEN guidelines, the second edition of this highly acclaimed undergraduate psychiatric nursing text features concrete strategies for establishing interpersonal relationships as the basis not only for working with the psychiatric patient population, but as a timeless foundation for all nursing practice. The text guides students through the essential phases of self-discovery necessary to integrate interpersonal nursing theory into practice.
The third edition of this award-winning text delivers the full treasury of tools that graduate nursing students and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) need to translate clinical research into practice.
The newly revised fifth edition of this authoritative classic continues to be the only text to focus specifically on rural nursing concepts, theory, research, practice, education, public health, and healthcare delivery from a national and international perspective.
Designed for the DNP curriculum and as a practical resource for more seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed text encompasses an interprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice that is useful for both clinical and nonclinical environments.