Should We Risk It? by Daniel M. Kammen; David M. Hassenzahl
Call Number: 363.702 K15s
Publication Date: 1999-04-19
In this book, Daniel Kammen and David Hassenzahl address that problem. They draw together, organize, and seek to unify previously disparate theories and methodologies connected with risk analysis for health, environmental, and technological problems. They also provide a rich variety of case studies and worked problems, meeting the growing need for an up-to-date book suitable for teaching and individual learning.
Is Global Warming a Threat? by Mary E. Williams
Call Number: 363.7 Thom
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Historic Preservation by James Marston Fitch
Call Number: 363.6 F545h
Publication Date: 1990-04-22
This book outlines a complete programme for the restoration and preservation of historic structures and historic sites throughout the world. It is a basic text for both the novice entering the field and the specialist.
Green Architecture by Osman Attmann
Call Number: 720.47 A8855g
Publication Date: 2009-11-20
Written by an architect specializing in green materials and methods, this GreensSource book presents all of the information you need to design efficient, environmentally friendly, economical, and sustainable buildings.
Energy-Wise Landscape Design by Sue Reed
Call Number: 712 R326e
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Residential consumption represents nearly one quarter of North America’s total energy use and the average homeowner spends thousands of dollars a year on power bills. To help alleviate this problem, Energy-Wise Landscape Design presents hundreds of practical ways everyone can save money, time, and effort while making their landscapes more environmentally healthy, ecologically rich, and energy efficient.
Fundamentals of Integrated Design for Sustainable Building by Marian Keeler; Bill Burke; Keeler
Call Number: 720.47 K263f
Publication Date: 2009-05-26
A rich sourcebook covering the breadth of environmental building, Fundamentals of Integrated Design for Sustainable Building introduces the student and practitioner to the history, theory and technology of green building. Using an active learning approach, the concepts of sustainble architecture are explained and reinforced through design problems, research exercises, study questions, team projects, and discussion topics.
A Guide to Smithsonian Architecture by Heather Ewing; Amy Ballard
Call Number: 727.6 E954g
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
The buildings of the Smithsonian Institution not only contain impressive collections; they are themselves icons of great cultural significance, many of them part of the historic National Mall. The Smithsonian's unique buildings illustrate the changing styles and sensibilities of America as an evolving nation. Representing the work of major architects, each building evokes a specific time in history: the mid-19th-century turreted Castle, the sky-reflecting mid-century modern Air and Space Museum, and the golden, undulating, 21st-century American Indian Museum.
Practical Green Remodeling by Barry Katz
Call Number: 643.7 K1978g
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Going green at home can seem like an all-or-nothing proposition. Do you sell everything (including the house) and start over, building and buying only eco-friendly, renewable goods? Or do you take the advice offered up in this smart and sensible book — and remodel instead? Green building expert Barry Katz makes a compelling argument for remodeling, as he guides readers through what can be a perplexing and daunting process. Too many decisions? No worries. Katz explains how different choices impact a home’s overall green quotient, as well as its bottom line.
Do It Yourself Kitchens by Better Homes and Gardens Books Staff
Call Number: 643.3 K236k
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
The kitchen is the heart of the home, and the space in which everyone seems to end up gathering. This book, from the editors of the popular Do It Yourself magazine, gives a wide variety of ideas for spicing up a kitchen, from tiling a backsplash to adding window treatments to increasing storage and functionality.
Tool-Making Projects for Joinery and Woodworking by Steve A. Olesin
Call Number: 684.08 O457t
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Written with all skill levels in mind, this practical handbook presents detailed instructions for making 20 essential hand tools for joinery and general woodworking. All the tools can be made by the career craftsperson or the weekend woodworker, with common workshop tools and techniques.
Green Restorations by Aaron Lubeck
Call Number: 643.7 L928g
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Some 40 percent of North Americans live in homes built prior to 1940, and when it comes time to remodel or restore our older homes, homeowners and contractors can find themselves lost in a morass of wildly divergent information and opinion. With Green Restorations, author Aaron Lubeck brings his expertise as a restoration contractor and preservation consultant to this first-of-its-kind guide, leading the reader through the steps for restoring historic buildings using sustainable practices and green building techniques.
Shelter II by Lloyd Kahn (Editor)
Call Number: 728 K127s
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Shelter II is the second in a series of books about people building their own homes in different parts of the world. The principles outlined in Shelter, published almost 40 years ago, seem even more important today: relearning the still-usable skills of the past and doing more hand work in providing life's necessities.
Architecture Without Architects by Bernard Rudofsky
Call Number: 720.9 R9171a
Publication Date: 1987-07-01
In this book, Bernard Rudofsky steps outside the narrowly defined discipline that has governed our sense of architectural history and discusses the art of building as a universal phenomenon. He introduces the reader to communal architecture--architecture produced not by specialists but by the spontaneous and continuing activity of a whole people with a common heritage, acting within a community experience. A prehistoric theater district for a hundred thousand spectators on the American continent and underground towns and villages (complete with schools, offices, and factories) inhabited by millions of people are among the unexpected phenomena he brings to light.
What Your Contractor Can't Tell You by Amy Johnston
Call Number: 690.837 J721w
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
What Your Contractor Can't Tell You is a comprehensive guide to getting the best results while building or renovating a home. Most homeowners spend about 20% of their time on the plan and 80% of their time on a messy, traumatic, expensive construction phase.
The Tools That Built America by Alex W. Bealer
Call Number: 684.082 B3664t
Publication Date: 2004-11-18
Fascinating story of early American woodworking, told by a master craftsman, enthusiastically describes and clearly illustrates a wide array of axes, saws, planes, hammers, and other implements used by frontiersmen.
Deserted Villages Revisited by Christopher Dyer (Editor); Richard Jones (Editor)
Call Number: 942.009 D9962d
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Assembling leading experts on the subject, this account explores the circumstances surrounding the disappearance of thousands of villages and smaller settlements in England and Wales between 1340 and 1750.
Dwellings by Paul Oliver
Call Number: 728.09 O487d
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
More than 90 per cent of the world's buildings, including some 800 million homes, constitute architecture of ordinary people. "Dwellings" is about the vast range of types of vernacular houses around the world.
Buildings without Architects by Anthony Reid (Editor); John May
Call Number: 720.9 M4667b
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
A wonderfully informative reference on vernacular styles, from adobe pueblos and Pennsylvania barns to Mongolian yurts and Indonesian stilt houses.
Vernacular Architecture by Henry Glassie
Call Number: 720 G5496v
Publication Date: 2000-12-22
Based on thirty-five years of fieldwork, Glassie's Vernacular Architecture synthesizes a career of concern with traditional building. He articulates the key principles of architectural analysis, and then, centering his argument in the United States, but drawing comparative examples from many locations in Europe and Asia, he shows how architecture can be a prime resource for the one who would write a democratic and comprehensive history.
Non-Fiction Books Available in Tarboro
Earth in the Balance by Al Gore
Call Number: 363.7 G666a
Publication Date: 2006-10-31
When Earth in the Balance first came out, it caused quite a stir--and for good reason. It convincingly makes the case that a crisis of epidemic proportions is nearly upon us and that if the world doesn't get its act together soon and agree to some kind of "Global Marshall Plan" to protect the environment, we're all up a polluted creek without a paddle. Myriad plagues are upon us, but the worst include the loss of biodiversity, the depletion of the ozone layer, the slash-and-burn destruction of rainforests, and the onset of global warming. None of this is new, of course, nor was it new in 1992. But most environmentalists will still get a giddy feeling reading such a call to action as written by a prominent politician.
Public Policies for Environmental Protection by Paul R. Portney (Editor)
Call Number: 363.705 P976
Publication Date: 1990-05-01
The first edition of Public Policies for Environmental Protection contributed significantly to the incorporation of economic analysis in the study of environmental policy. Fully revised to account for changes in the institutional, legal, and regulatory framework of environmental policy, the second edition features updated chapters on the EPA and federal regulation, air and water pollution policy, and hazardous and toxic substances. It includes entirely new chapters on market-based environmental policies, global climate change, solid waste, and, for the first time, coverage of the Safe Drinking Water Act. Portney, Stavins, and their contributors provide an invaluable resource for researchers, policymakers, industry professionals, and journalists---anyone who needs up-to-date information on U.S. environmental policy. With their careful explanation of policy alternatives, the authors provide an ideal book for students in courses about environmental economics or environmental politics.
How to Live Green, Cheap and Happy by Randi Hacker
Call Number: 363.705 H118h
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
Light-hearted guide to living ecologically correct and economically smart. Includes practical lifestyle ideas, all based on the premise that what's good for the Earth is good for your wallet.
Preservation Yellow Pages by National Trust for Historic Preservation Staff (Editor); Julie Zagars (Editor); National Trust for Historic Preservation
Call Number: 363.6 Z18p
Publication Date: 1997-07-08
Preservation Yellow Pages is the only national directory of contact data and information on preservation resources--detailed coverage of the procedures, programs, and organizations that can help you make preservation happen.
Place, Race, and Story by Ned Kaufman
Call Number: 363.69 K214p
Publication Date: 2009-01-15
In Place, Race, and Story, author Ned Kaufman has collected his own essays dedicated to the proposition of giving the next generation of preservationists not only a foundational knowledge of the field of study, but more ideas on where they can take it.
Green Roof Systems by Susan K. Weiler; Katrin Scholz-Barth
Call Number: 635.967 W4226g
Publication Date: 2009-05-04
Green Roof Systems goes beyond the fashionable green roof movement and provides solid information on building accessible space, often as important public space, over structure. It offers brief coverage of the entire process, including planning and collaboration, and focuses on the technical aspects of these roof systems, their components, and their applications.
Victorian Domestic Architectural Plans and Details by William T. Comstock
Call Number: 728.022 C739v
Publication Date: 1987-09-01
Rare treasury of floor plans, elevations, perspective drawings for houses and cottages in Queen Anne, Eastlake, Elizabethan, Colonial, other styles. Large engraved plates also contain scaled drawings of nearly 700 architectural details. Invaluable resource for restorers, preservationists, students, etc. 734 black-and-white illustrations.
The Perfect Edge by Ron Hock
Call Number: 684.083 H6856p
Publication Date: 2010-01-14
If you've never experienced the pleasure of using a really sharp tool, you're missing one of the real pleasures of woodworking. In The Perfect Edge, the mystery of the elusive sharp edge is solved by long-time sharpening expert and tool maker Ron Hock. You'll soon find how easy and safe hand tools are to use.
Hand Tool Essentials by Popular Woodworking Editors
Call Number: 684.08 T431h
Publication Date: 2007-06-06
Georgetown Houses of the Federal Period by Deering Davis; Stephen P. Dorsey; Ralph Cole Hall
Call Number: 728.09 D2615g
Publication Date: 2001-05-16
Classic study focuses on 19 elegant brick houses constructed from 1780 to 1830. Over 80 black-and-white illustrations provide detailed exterior and interior views of Decatur House, Dumbarton House, Evermay, Hyde House, Laird-Dunlop House, Sevier Place, Tudor Place, the Walker House, George Washington's double house, several prerevolutionary dwellings, and more.
Georgian Architectural Designs and Details by Abraham Swan
Call Number: 720.941 S9721g
Publication Date: 2005-11-03
As one of the 18th century's most influential architecture writer/designers, Swan came to define many conventions of English rococo detail. Included here is a range of floor plans and detail elevations that demonstrates both Swan's unique style, as well as the types of homes prevalent in Georgian England and colonial America. 125 illustrations.
Woodworker's Guide to Handplanes by Scott Wynn
Call Number: 684.082 W988w
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
There is much to consider when choosing a woodworking handplane. This guide teaches the woodworker how to discern the difference between each style of plane, how to select one that's best for their approach to woodworking, how to setup and maintain each of the planes, and lastly, how to make a variety of handplanes. The author analyzes the six core anatomical elements common to all planes, then shows how these elements work. He also evaluates the styles of woodworking planes from various cultures, including Japanese and Chinese planes. This intelligent book features over 200 photographs and hand drawings that are as technically rich as they are beautiful.
Reference Books Available in Tarboro
Historical Dictionary of Architecture by Allison Palmer
Call Number: Ref 720.9 P173a
Publication Date: 2008-09-11
The Historical Dictionary of Architecture provides information on architects like Frank Lloyd Wright, Tadao Ando, Leon Battista Alberti, Filippo Brunelleschi, Michelangelo, and Konstantin Stepanovich Melnikov, as well as on famous structures like the Acropolis, the Colosseum, the Forbidden City, Machu Pichu, Notre Dame, the Pyramids of Giza, Stonehenge, and the World Trade Center. The dictionary examines the development of architecture over the centuries through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on the major architects, well-known buildings, time periods, styles, building types, and materials in world architecture.
The Victorian House Book by Robin Guild; Vernon Gibberd (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ref 728.370 G955v
Publication Date: 2008-02-15
The Victorian House Book is a fascinating and essential guide to a rich and varied design age. The book details numerous interior and exterior styles -- from the High Victorian and Queen Anne Revival to the Classical and Gothic -- and showcases homes from the United States and Great Britain.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through World History by James Steele
Call Number: Ref 728 S8142g Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2008-11-30
The house, throughout history, in every place in the world, has been built to provide shelter from the elements. The dwellings that have resulted are as different as the people that have built them, the social norms that prevailed at the time and place in which they were built and the natural environment that they adapted to. Studying them now in a comprehensive way allows us to understand the social, political, economic and religious conditions that existed for their inhabitants. They are a three-dimensional record of culture. Twenty-four pages of color images, along with black and white images through three volumes, illustrate the homes of people throughout the world. The volumes cover ancient times to the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance to the Industrial Revolution, and the Post-Industrial Revolution to the Present.
Greek Revival America by Roger G. Kennedy; John M. Hall (Photographer); Jack Kotz (Photographer); Robert Lautman (Photographer); Mark Zeek (Photographer)
Call Number: Ref. 720.973 K363g
Publication Date: 2010-03-23
The great survey of the American Greek Revival style, back in print and in an updated form for the first time since 1995. Stately Greek Revival architecture reached full flower in the 1820s, when impressive white temple-fronted facades with columns and pilasters were the prevailing style for new buildings throughout America. Roger Kennedy examines the social, political, and psychological forces that underpinned this opulent style. Kennedy’s text is complemented by full-color photographs that were specially commissioned by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Magnificent examples of churches, banks, government buildings, and residences, as well as interiors, are featured. Included are a new preface and an updated appendix of every important surviving Greek Revival structure in the United States today.
The Business of Sustainability by Scott G. McNall (Editor); James C. Hershauer (Editor); George Basile (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 658.4 M4789b Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Vol. 1 - Global Challenges and Opportunities
Vol. 2 - The Global Supply Web
Vol. 3 - The Road to Sustainability
The History of Gauged Brickwork by Gerard Lynch
Call Number: Ref 693.21 L9873h
Publication Date: 2007-11-16
This book takes a look at the history and use of cut, rubbed and gauged brickwork; the use of tools and equipment and the differences between historic and contemporary bricks with a view to inform conservation and restoration decisions.
The book uses case studies from England, Ireland and the US to illustrate the use of different materials and techniques on buildings ranging in age.
NC Reference Books Available in Tarboro
A Guide to the Historic Architecture of Piedmont North Carolina by Catherine W. Bishir; Michael T. Southern
Call Number: NC Ref 720.975 B492g
Publication Date: 2003-05-26
This richly illustrated guide offers a fascinating look at the Piedmont's historic architecture, covering more than 2,000 sites in 34 counties. Highlights include cabins and stone houses dating to the region's early settlement; mill villages and main streets that depict its subsequent industrial and agricultural growth; and twentieth-century landmarks such as Durham's Duke University and Winston-Salem's Wachovia Building. As North Carolina faces massive changes in its economy and landscape, residents and travelers alike will value this unparalleled portrait of an American region, which traces its history and culture through its buildings and communities.
A Guide to the Historic Architecture of Western North Carolina by Catherine W. Bishir; Michael T. Southern; Jennifer F. Martin
Call Number: NC Ref 720.975 B492g
Publication Date: 1999-04-26
This portable field guide to the historic architecture of western North Carolina covers 1,200 historic buildings in 25 counties in the foothills and mountains. It introduces readers to the region's rich and diverse architectural heritage—from the log farmstead to the opulent mountain retreat, and from ancient earthen mounds of the Cherokee to twentieth-century hydroelectric dams and the Blue Ridge Parkway.
A Guide to the Historic Architecture of Eastern North Carolina by Catherine W. Bishir; Michael T. Southern
Call Number: NC Ref 720.975 B492g
Publication Date: 1996-11-25
The book transcends the architectural report, combining architectural details, reasons for significance, and ripping vignettes of common and uncommon places.
NC Collection HPT Books
A Richer Heritage by Robert E. Stipe (Editor)
Call Number: NC 363.69 S854r
Publication Date: 2003-06-23
In this "best practices" volume for students, professionals, and policy makers, 15 essays by leading scholars and professionals explore the history of the preservation movement in the US, the current range of philosophies and strategies employed by professionals in the field, and recommendations for appropriate preservation strategies, both public and private.
Biltmore Estate by John M. Bryan
Call Number: NC 728.8 B9153b
Publication Date: 1994-09-15
In the late 1880s, two supreme talentsarchitect Richard Morris Hunt and landscape architect Frederick Law Olmstedwere brought together by the Vanderbilt fortune. The result was the magnificent Biltmore Estate, explored here in archival and new color photography, sketches, and construction photos that document the entire design, development, and construction.
The Town and Gown Architecture of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 1795-1975 by M. Ruth Little; Diane Lea (Foreword by)
Call Number: NC 720.97 L7786t
Publication Date: 2006-10-16
Ruth Little tells the story of Chapel Hill's "town" and "gown" from the earliest architecture of the town and campus to the imposing public and university structures of the early twentieth century and the modernist subdivisions built from the late 1950s through the 1970s.
Architecture of the Old South: North Carolina by Mills Lane; Van J. Martin (Photographer)
Call Number: NC 720.975 L266a
Publication Date: 1990-06-01
Architecture of the Old South: North Carolina is one of a distinguished series of handsome volumes that comprehensively survey the historic buildings of the antebellum South in excellent photographs, old prints and drawings, newly done plans and elevations, and in a very readable text. These volumes describe and illustrate each Southern state's most important and beautiful buildings in a practical chronological and stylistic order, all set in a brief cultural and social background that is free of any dogmatic architectural thesis. As this volume so clearly demonstrates, North Carolina has long suffered from an unjustified cultural inferiority complex. Despite an early start, North Carolina, with shallow harbors and
North Carolina Architecture by Catherine W. Bishir; Tim Buchman (Photographer)