NCHIMA is the component state organization (CSA) of the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA). AHIMA is the premier association of health information management (HIM) professionals worldwide. Serving 52 affiliated component state associations and more than 103,000 health information professionals, it is recognized as the leading source of “HIM knowledge,” a respected authority for rigorous professional education and training.
“The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans.” (AHRQ Website) There is an A to Z Index, News & Events, Publications, Multimedia, and Career information.
This website offers information on certification for the healthcare professional. It includes the latest certification news, practice exams, and information on recertification.
With information on multiple data entry and computer systems, this site provides broad overviews of the systems used in the healthcare industry. It also offers downloads such as manuals and related links if they are available.
This website is the brain child of Daniel Garrison and Malcolm Hast,iIt offers the start of the translated version of Andreas Versalives “De Humani Corpois Fabrica” with detailed imagery.
A branch of the NIH this site is a valuable resource for HIT students. Publications can be ordered or viewed online, news releases can be keyword searched or by year or organization. Information Specialist offers “trained information specialists who have access to information and referral services. They can provide assistance in finding specific health information.” (NICHD Website)
A database for a variety of resources, including listservs, newsgroups, journal articles, and healthcare news, they have recently added images to their collection.
This website provides lifelong educational opportunities for healthcare professionals. It includes information on career development, research, and publications.
A part of the National Institutes of Health, this site provides valuable information on, “cancer statistics” and “research and funding” that are useful to HIT students. This includes information on “finding cancer statistics”, “understanding cancer statistics”, and “statistical tools and data for researchers”.
North Carolina Health Info is a part of the UNC Health Science Library. This site offers features such as “diseases & conditions,” “treatments & procedures,” “public health,” and “reference & tools.” It also allows you to find local health services by topic or by selecting a county or city.
The NLM gateway is a part of the National Institute of Health and is a search portal for healthcare research and articles.
PatientInform is a website that brings together the "world's leading medical journals and the U.S.'s most trusted health organizations" to offer the most accurate and up-to-date information on health issues.
This site offers valuable information about the careers available in the healthcare industry and its regulations.
AHIMA leads the health informatics and information management community to advance professional practice and standards. It provides information on careers, publications, certification, and much more.
The AMA's mission is to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health. It offers information on resources, publications, coding systems, and much more.
The Joint Commission provides valuable information about how to investigate, prevent, and save lives in the HIT field.
The Cochrane Library offers "independent high-quality evidence for healthcare decision making. It offers a search engine to find articles, abstracts, and titles as well as the option to browse titles by subject.
DermAtlas is a web site designed to enable health care professionals, parents, and patients to access high quality dermatology images for teaching purposes.
The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues. This link provides information on States and Health Insurance.
This website from the US Department of Health and Human Services offers detailed information on HIPAA. It includes, "what information is covered," "authorized uses and disclosures," and "what information is protected."
This website is an amazing resource for any student in the healthcare field. A part of the NLM and NIH this site provides a “medical dictionary,” “health topics,” “drugs & supplements,” and “videos & cool tools.” You can browse health news or various health issues in general or broken down by sex and/or age.
This website provides valuable information of HIT students. It includes information on “Research & Training”, “Health Information”, and “News & Events”. It provides an A-Z listing of health topics and the options to search or browse individual categories.
The NC State Center for Health Statistics provides information on “data collection, health-related research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.” (SCHS Website) They also include information concerning vital statistics, birth defects, cancer, and minority health that would be beneficial to HIT students.
This is both a website and a book, offering detailed and extremely well-labeled images for medical students.
This website is a part of the AMA and offeres detailed information concerning the Resource-Based Relative Scale (RBRVS).
